Welcome to Taber Evangelical Free Church!

KNOW, GROW, GO represents who we are. We believe that these three key words encourage us to learn God's Word and get to KNOW him through a relationship with Jesus Christ; GROW together to mature in Christ; and then GO serve in ministry and invite others to say "YES" to Jesus


A Brief Church History  

The Taber Evangelical Free Church grew out of the efforts of Miss Ruby Krenzke.  In the late 40’s and early 50’s her home on 44 Avenue was filled with children several times a week as she led “Happy Hour Bible Clubs”.  Regular church services were first held in her home in the fall of 1946 and a modest building was erected and opened the following spring. At a meeting in 1952 this independent congregation decided to affiliate the Prairie District of the Evangelical Free Church of America (The EFC officially became a Canadian denomination with the acquisition of a dominion charter in 1967). In May of 1957, another church building was completed and further expanded in 1983. In the fall of 1999, a second Sunday morning service was added to accommodate further growth.  The church moved to its current location and a single Sunday service after renovation of a commercial property was completed in January 2008.  

Pastors who have served the church during its history:  Lee & Hattie Fosmark (1946-1960); Bernard Steen (1960-1964; 1967-68); Jake & MaryAnn Plett (1964-67); Ben & Betty Wall (1968-77);  Fred & Elli Heffke (1977-85); Harry & Marion Ruggles (1985-92); Al & Melanie Thiessen (1992-97); Ron & Beryl Gartly (1998-2009); Harry & Wanda Unger (2009-2016); Keith & Lisa Boschman (2018-present)  

In 1990, in response to a growing congregation and expanding youth population, Taber EFC hired a full-time pastor to minister specifically to youth.  Caring for and teaching our youth has always been a priority for our congregation.  Youth ministry has always been a core component of our community outreach and many teens and families have been exposed to the gospel through these programs.  

Youth pastors who have served the congregation:  Colin Creighton (1990-95); Bob & Jody Dewbury (1995-97);  Daron Blenkin (1998-2002); Shane Skretting (interim volunteer, 2002-03); Jason & Amy Easterbrook (2003-2011); Brett McCoy (2012-present*). 

* In 2018, Brett McCoy was named Associate Pastor, a role which among other ministries, continues to encompass the Youth Ministry, as well as the entire Children's Ministry